HOME  |  EDUCATION  |  HIGHER EDUCATION  |  University of Waikato
University of Waikato

The University of Waikato

University of Waikato

The University of Waikato was founded in 1964. This University is committed to delivering a world-class education and research portfolio, providing a full and dynamic university experience, distinctive in character, and pursuing strong international links to advance knowledge. Seven faculties of the University of Waikato offer internationally benchmarked teaching and research, which are Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Health, Sport and Human Performance, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies, and Faculty of Science and Engineering. Graduates are sought after around the world.


The University of Waikato is a consistent climber in the most prestigious international rankings. It has risen 127 places in the QS World University Rankings in five years, and the latest Times Higher Education World University Rankings brought it up to third equal in New Zealand.

Campuses in Hamilton and Tauranga are bursting with life and energy. With smaller class sizes, better access to lecturers, affordable living, a wide range of support services, and with dozens of student clubs, student experience at Waikato will be dynamic and distinctive.

Flexible degree structures mean students can study a broad range of subjects to shape a qualification that matches their strengths and career interests and will keep their skills in demand.

The University of Waikato offers hundreds of scholarships every year to students to help fund study and study-related expenses.

Students learn from award-winning lecturers and world-leading researchers who are committed to delivering a world-class, innovative education.

Each year, the University of Waikato offers more than 2000 industry placements and internships. Whether undergraduate or postgraduate student, partnerships and networks offer a unique opportunity to embed students in local or international organisations as part of learning experience.


The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences offers a wide range of qualifications from undergraduate certificates, diplomas and degrees through to postgraduate research. Subjects taught within the Faculty include the Social Sciences, the Humanities, including a number of modern foreign languages, and the Performing Arts.

The Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences provides a stimulating and leading-edge environment of quality relevant teaching programmes and world-class research, producing graduates well matched for the challenges of the contemporary and future workplace.

The Faculty of Education provides programmes in areas such as teacher education, counselling, human development, education, educational leadership and education studies. It distinguishes itself among other education schools through its tradition and reputation for innovation, leadership and research.

The Faculty of Health, Sport and Human Performance provides an innovative platform for bringing together expertise from across the University and our community to explore new ideas and ways of looking at issues and challenges that affect how human live, work and play.

The Faculty of Law provides an innovative, student-focused Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree in a stimulating academic environment. The Faculty's founding goals of professionalism, biculturalism, and the study of law in context attract an exciting and diverse group of staff and students.

The Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies offers programmes in Māori language and linguistics, culture, customs, creative and performing arts, media and communication, Treaty of Waitangi, and development studies.

The Faculty of Science and Engineering offers a range of innovative programmes for the undergraduate degrees of Bachelor of Engineering with Honours, Bachelor of Science, and the Bachelor of Science (Technology). The Faculty also hosts the Environmental Research Institute and the only university based Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) funded Outcome Based Investment on freshwater restoration. Commercial units include Radio Carbon Dating, Stable Isotopes and DNA Sequencing.

Waikato Pathways College (WPC) focuses on future learning opportunities for all students within the University. Programmes providing pathways to successful degree study are offered and include academic, specific purpose and general English language programmes.


Main campus is located in Hamilton, New Zealand. The University of Waikato currently shares two main campuses - Windermere and the Bongard Centre - with Toi Ohomai.

Hamilton Campus: Private Bag 3105, Hamilton, New Zealand

Windermere: 70 Windermere Drive, Windermere, Tauranga, New Zealand

Bongard Centre: 200 Cameron Road, Tauranga, New Zealand